Hamilton Health Sciences
Clinical Departments

About the Chief
Chief Assistant:
Annetta Gionomo
phone 905.521.2100 ext. 43893
Dr. Barry Lumb
Dr. Barry Lumb is a Professor in the Department of Medicine at McMaster University and completed his BSc in 1975, MD in 1979 and General Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology in 1984, all at McMaster University. He was a full time clinician from 1984 to 2008 with a major clinical interest in IBD, biliary diseases and interventional endoscopy.

Dr. Lumb has been actively involved with health administration and education throughout his career. This has included a variety of administrative and leadership roles in the former Hamilton Civic Hospitals and at Hamilton Health Sciences. He also has served as the Chair of the Royal College Examination Board in Gastroenterology.

Dr. Lumb was appointed as Chief of Medicine at Hamilton Health Sciences in April 2008 and most recently reappointed as Physician-in-Chief in January 2013.

As Physician-in-Chief, Dr. Lumb currently divides his time between the complex administrative and academic issues of the department with a particular interest in patient safety and quality improvement. He is the Regional Endoscopy Lead for Cancer Care Ontario and continues an active clinical practice.
The Department of Medicine at Hamilton Health Sciences is a large, complex department that excels in clinical service, education, and research. Members of the department are making significant contributions in all domains locally, nationally, and on the international stage.

The Department of Medicine consists of 14 divisions:

• Cardiology
• General Internal Medicine
• Gastroenterology
• Infectious Diseases
• Respirology
• Neurology
• Hematology
• Thromboembolism
• Endocrinology
• Geriatrics
• Dermatology
• Rheumatology
• Allergy/Immunology
• Obstetrical Medicine

Department of Medicine Leadership Structure

Department of Medicine 2017: Academic
Dr. Akbar Panju
Acting Chair
Dr. Ameen Patel
Associate Chair, Education
Dr. Jeff Weitz
Associate Chair, Research
Dr. Akbar Panju
Associate Chair, Clinical
Dr. Barry Lumb
Physician–in–Chief, HHS
Dr. Alistair Ingram
Chief of Medicine, SJHH
Dr. Lori Whitehead
Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
Dr. Jill Rudkowski
Clerkship Coordinator
Annette Rosati
Department Administrator
Division Directors
Dr. PJ Devereaux

Dr. Judah Denburg
Clinical Immunology/Allergy

Dr. Andy Freitag
Critical Care

Dr. Herminio Lima

Dr. Margaret Ackerman
Emergency Medicine

Dr. Hertzel Gerstein

Dr. Paul Moayyedi

Dr. Akbar Panju
General Internal Medicine

Dr. Sharon Marr

Dr. Shannon Bates

Dr. Mark Loeb
Infectious Diseases

Dr. Scott Brimble

Dr. Wes Oczkowski

Dr. Shanker Nesathurai
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Dr. Martin Kolb

Dr. Alfred Cividino

Is there something more you would like to see?
Tell us your ideas about what you would like to see featured in your department page.
Annetta Gionomo at email or at phone extension 43893
Hamilton Health Sciences • Hamilton, Ontario • 905.521.2100

Disclaimer: Hamilton Health Sciences (HHS) offers Google Translate to better facilitate access for our community. However, HHS makes no claims regarding the accuracy of translations. Any and all health information should be verified by a health care professional.