The Poplar St. parking lot at the Juravinski Cancer Centre is closed from June 3 to September 27. Click here for more info.


About the Department

The Department of Medicine at Hamilton Health Sciences is a large, complex department that excels in clinical service, education, and research. Members of the department are making significant contributions in all domains locally, nationally, and on the international stage.

The Department of Medicine consists of 14 divisions:

  • Cardiology
  • General Internal Medicine
  • Gastroenterology
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Hospitalist Medicine
  • Respirology
  • Neurology
  • Benign Hematology
  • Thromboembolism
  • Endocrinology
  • Geriatrics
  • Dermatology
  • Rheumatology
  • Allergy/Immunology
  • Obstetrical Medicine

Visit our McMaster University Department page.


Dr. Khalid Azzam, MBBS, FACP,  FRCPC, CPE, MS-HQSMi

Department Of Medicine Leadership Structure

Department Of Medicine 2021: Academic

  • Dr. Mark Crowther, Chair
  • Dr. Ameen Patel, Associate Chair, Education
  • Dr. Jeff Weitz Associate Chair, Research
  • Dr. Khalid Azzam, Physician-in-Chief, HHS
  • Dr. Alistar Ingram, Chief of Medicine, SJHH
  • Dr. Lori Whitehead, Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
  • Dr. Helen Neighbour, Clerkship Coordinator
  • Annette Rosati, Department Administrator

Academic Division